Let’s say Thank You

thankyou

I remember the day when I was at the University. I have to take the bus everyday to get to school. There was always too crowded and messy, especially in rush hour. I appreciate the bus driver’s effort to go through the traffic jam so we could arrive on time. Yet I never say Thank You to him, everybody didn’t either. Somebody told me that, he’s paid for that job, why do we have to say Thank You or feel grateful for him about that?

I hadn’t taken a bus for a long time until I came to San Diego. I’m taking 4 bus-trips daily, and it is rarely too busy or late. I’m so surprised when passengers get off the bus; they usually say “Thank you” to the driver. I find it extremely delightful, in some ways.

Most of us were taught that saying “thank you” is simply the polite thing to do. According to a theory proposed by US psychologist Sara Algoe (University of North Carolina), gratitude can help to find new social relationships, remind existing social relationships, and promotes investment in these relationships.

I like the way cashier at the Forever 21 store (like other shopping stores as well) saying “Thank You” to the customers with a big smile, although they didn’t buy anything.

I love the way a teenage girl express her gratitude to me when I shared my umbrella with her in a rainy day at the bus top.

We are usually reminded to say “Thank you” to our partners who we work with in team or small-group assignments in class.

Yes, one of the most important things I realized that, even saying “thank you” to strangers bring me blissful feeling. I think the other who was thanked also feel the same way.

Just a reminder, don’t forget to smile and say “thank you” the next time you pick up your dry cleaning, get a cup of coffee at Starbuck, get off the bus or are given a seat on the train.

  • Libra –

Leave a Reply

